During a conversation about life with an old friend, I was told that the definition of a “strong” person has been twisted by the current generation, from something that indicates kindness and emotional intelligence to something that borders along the lines of “a screw up who is okay with other person’s shit”. This got me thinking. 

The innumerable times I was labeled as weak and incapable of trusting –  without even being heard. The times I was yelled at for trying to express myself. The instances I was forced to be okay with being treated like inferior. The moments I was the chaser, I was the taker, I was the cleaner and yet I was “the weaker”. 

Now I look back and realize how strong I was to bear all that in silence. To hope for things to get better. To try and understand the other without being understood. 

This one goes out to everyone who is being told that being emotional is a weakness – I say, screw them. 

-Iflah Laraib 

